Bread Machine Stollen Recipe

It’s that time of year again, Stollen time! I made my first one for this winter yesterday and annoyingly I hadn’t previously blogged my recipe so I had to go and look up a new one.

A stollen I made last year.

Here is a modification of the one I found that suits my tastes. The following go straight in the bucket of the bread machine:

  • 175ml warm milk
  • 1 egg
  • 40g sugar
  • salt (pinch)
  • 27g olive oil
  • 370g white flour (I mixed it 50/50 with regular and super fluid flour)
  • some cinnamon
  • a dash of nutmeg
  • 50g of chopped nuts, almond and brazil
  • 50g of melted butter
  • 8g dried yeast
  • 40g of finely sliced almonds

Set the bread maker to the dough programme and relax for 90 minutes. During the 90 minutes soak some fruit in alcohol, I used about 100g of raisins since I didn’t have anything else, in rum or another spirit.

When the dough is finished, tip it out onto a well floured chopping board and roll it into a baguette shape, before adding 250g of marzipan, also rolled out into a long thin strip and the fruit which has been soaking. I decided to fold mine three times, with one stripe of marzipan and raisins inside each time, which worked rather well. Be careful that the soggy raisins don’t poke a hole in the side of the dough and escape! You also to make sure that the marzipan is well contained within the dough otherwise it will burn.

When you are happy with the composure of your stollen, bake in the oven for 18-20 minutes at 200 degrees. I left mine in the oven to cool overnight and it turned out fine, I didn’t want to put it in the fridge in case it dried out. When you want to serve it don’t forget to dust with icing sugar using a sieve.  I might try making a chocolate one next.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

